Renowned and virtuoso performers from Cuba, Canada, the United States, the Caribbean, Europe and Africa will come together in “A Concert for Cuba”

Press Release

On the initiative of the HotHouse of Chicago,  United States, and in coordination with the Cuban Institute of Music and the Cuban Ministry of Culture, “A Concert for Cuba” will be broadcast on line on July 18th and 19th.  This concert is aimed at denouncing the effects of the economic, financial and commercial blockade of the United States government against Cuba and supporting the candidacy of the Henry Reeve Cuban Medical Contingent for the Nobel Peace Prize on the basis of its contributions in combating the COVID-19 pandemic; Cuba has contributed to this fight by sharing its breakthroughs in the biotech industry and sending 41 medical brigades to 34 countries and territories.

Renowned and virtuos performers from Cuba, Canada, the United States, the Caribbean, Europe and Africa will come together in “A Concert for Cuba”.  The bill of the concert features, among others, Alexander Abreu and Habana D' Primera, Orquesta Aragón, Susana Baca, Jane Bunnett with Danae Olano, Bush, Proyecto Socio-Cultural El Patio de Adela and El Caverchelo.comb with Ben Lapidus, Jon Cleary, Barbara Dane with Pablo Menéndez and Mezcla, Osain del Monte, “Nachito” Herrera, Oscar Hernández, Los Van Van, Arturo O'Farrill & the Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra, Aruán Ortiz, Ozomatli, Omara Portuondo with Orquesta Failde, John Santos,  El Septeto Santiaguero, Síntesis, Omar Sosa, Orbert Davis’ Chicago Jazz Philharmonic, Tom Morello, Dayramir Gonzalez, Miguel Zenón, Grupo Moncada, Nancy Morejón, Dionne Warwick, Pedrito Martinez and Michael McDonald.

Numerous artists, writers, personalities and social justice activists will join in this celebration of Cuban culture, conveying powerful messages of solidarity with Cuba.  This extensive list includes world-class personalities such as Danny Glover, Medea Benjamin, Michael Moore, Jesse Jackson Sr., Rafael Lay, Cesar Pedroso, Jorge Gómez, Adalberto Álvarez, Congressman Danny Davis, Congressman Jesús G. "Chuy" García, Los Angeles City Councilman Mike Bonin, James Early, David Soul, Ron Perlman, Judith Le Blanc, Antonio Gonzales, Alicia Jrapko, Jontay Darko, Juan de Marcos González, Alfredo Caxaj, Ed Asner, Aislinn Sol, Mike Farrell, Ronnie Malley and Wilfred W. Labiosa.

This is the first time in the history of the cultural relations between both countries that a concert of these characteristics is organized.  The concert bill proposes a daily broadcast of approximately 2 hours and a half, at the following times:  8:00 pm (Havana, New York) ~ 7:00 pm (Chicago) ~ 5:00 pm (Los Angeles)

The concert will be accessible for free from the platforms and social media sites of HotHouseGlobal, the Ministry of Culture, and the Cuban Institute of Music, as well as the chain of linked pages Streaming Cuba.


Add new comment