Add new comment

Caribbean countries reject strengthening of blockade against Cuba

Prime Ministers from the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, gathered in extraordinary session in Guadeloupe, condemned the recent decision by the United States Government to apply the III Title of the Helms-Burton Act.

The heads of State declared their concern for the strengthening of the economic, financial and commercial blockade against Cuba that could serve as a deterrent to international companies doing business in Cuba.

By rejecting the blockade, the OECS stated that this decision “undermines the stability, peace and security of the Caribbean region” and made a call for the blockade to be lifted in its entirety.

The OECS is a sub-regional organization that encompasses 11 countries and territories from the Eastern Caribbean, among them Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, St Vincent and the Granadines, St Kitts and Nevis, Grenada and St Lucia.